Wrap Beef

7 Jan


There are some things that women do that’s necessary for them to stay fab and beautiful.  It may not look appealing and it may seem ridiculous, but men need to know that it’s necessary for these things to be done.  Case in point…I spend $30-$40 every two weeks to get my hair done.  To preserve my luscious locks and to make my hair style last, I wear a satin scarf or bonnet on my head.  I wear it on my “narci” days, when I’m cleaning and when I give my kids a bath (you don’t know the level of pissed one can be when her kids splash bath water on her mane).   I take a lot of pride in my hair.  This is nothing new, I’ve done it for years.  However just recently it was brought to my attention that my hair wraps are sort of a buzz kill in the bedroom.  As I was getting ready for bed one night I attempted to spark a pretty random convo that was the perfect setup for the hubs to get him some that night.  I just knew he was gonna make me feel special…um yea right:

Me (while getting ready for bed): What do you love about me?

Him: Your dedication to that thing on your head.

(baffled because I was waiting for him to talk about my flawless beauty or the way my legs look in my Jessica Simpson pumps–yes this convo was initiated from a very narcissistic place)

Me: Wait–What?  You mean my scarf?

Him: Yep.

Me: What don’t you like about my scarf, I’ve always worn it to bed.

Him: Yep. That’s the problem.

You see, although I take pride in my appearance, my nighttime habits were affecting my relationship.  My husband had beef with my head-wraps.  Men are apparently visual creatures.  The sight of us looking like Aunt Jemima just isn’t attractive or romantic to them.  And while some of us have strict bedroom rules when it comes to our manes (i.e., don’t pull too hard and nothing in the hair *wink wink*) sometimes we need to be snapped back to reality and reminded that not only should we look fly for ourselves, but also for our man.  While I can’t promise to never wear it to bed (who wants their hair to look frizzy and raggedy the next day?) I can compromise by holding off from putting it on…for a few minutes.

One Response to “Wrap Beef”

  1. Angela January 9, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    Girl, put the head wrap in the nightstand with your other “supplies.” That way, when you’re done satisfying your man, you can satisfy your ‘do. Who says they both don’t deserve a little TLC. lol

Leave a Reply

