Please Allow Me to Introduce You To

1 Nov

Let me start off by saying, I am a journalist at heart.

From a young age, I would keep a journal and diary and write everything down.  So when I started Bitchin’ (yes mom I know you hate the name), it was like my online journal of the chaos and mayhem that I call life.  What I didn’t realize was that people would actually enjoy it and become followers of the blog.  Each time my site gets a hit or someone reads a blog entry I get all giddy and giggly inside.  Even when I don’t post for a few days or weeks, you’re still coming back to check on me.  And that makes me feel super excited.

While I have a 9-to-5 –or rather a 6-to-6 in my case – I knew there was something more I wanted to offer with my journalism talents.  I have been working on a site that offers a more in-depth look into the lives of women like you and me.  With its local feel and global appeal, we cover issues that affect women of color.  Her name is Notorious S.H.E and she’s all about Sophisticate Highly intelligent Extraordinary women.

NotoriousShe.com was created to uplift, inspire and empower.  We are ushering in a new generation of socially conscious, politically savvy and culturally advanced phenomenal women.  You don’t have to be an alumnus of a HBCU; you don’t even have to have a college degree to feel connected to the site.  We celebrate your individuality and your creativity.  We want to empower you to be invested and engaged in your community.  We want you to be aware of what’s really going on.

S.H.E will bring you fresh new features each week.  In our inaugural issue, we profile’s Ponka-We Victors, a Native American political candidate running for the 103rd district of the Kansas House of Representatives.  If elected Victors will be the first Native American woman to serve from this district.

Speaking of politics, Tuesday, November 2 – tomorrow – is Election Day! Some important decisions will need to be made.  Though they lack the fanfare and popularity of 2008, these mid-term elections are still equally as important – because they could totally change the voting powers of congress. Therefore, you must get out and vote. Click here , put in your address to find your polling location.

For next week, we’re working on a story about Black women and their mental health – a taboo topic but a very important issue to be discussed. We’ll also touch on Black women and their faith in God, the Black church and the Black man. It’s time we take a critical look at the inordinate amount of faith Black women posses.

And a must-see this weekend, Tyler Perry’s portrayal of Ntozake Shange’s book of poetry, For Colored Girls. Like the book and Broadway play, the movie relates how certain situations and circumstances shape the identity of the Black female. I’m going to see it with my girlfriends!

It’s all about support.  Tell a friend to tell a friend to tell a friend “S.H.E is far from timid, S.H.E makes moves when her heart’s in it, S.H.E lives the phrase sky’s the limit.”

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

In solidarity,

Aonya

2 Responses to “Please Allow Me to Introduce You To”

  1. Sheri November 2, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    I’m very proud of you Aonya. You are such a smart girl.

    • bitchinainteasy November 2, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

      Thanks Sheri!! You’ve been there since day 1 and i appreciate you for it!

Leave a Reply

